The Dirt’s Red in Oklahoma

It’s been a tough week. I have a very sick dog and all my attention is focused on her. It’s my littlest one, Pinch (weighing 3 pounds), and it’s serious, her liver. Sadly, today, I’m afraid we are loosing ground. I have a call into the vet for consultation now. Because of this situation, I have been unable to concentrate on writing so today, I am giving you something I wrote a while back.

In 2012, I was fortunate enough to travel with my husband to Oklahoma.  This was an important trip for me as I was meeting some of my family for the first time. Actually, not the first time, as we had visited once when I was about five but it was very hard to remember any details about that trip and I didn’t remember who was there or exactly where we had gone.

One of the things we found very interesting about the area, was, the color of the dirt. Red, rusty-red, it was amazing.  Now, I suppose a lot of you already know about red dirt but Steve and I didn’t so it was an intriguing feature to us.

Just as a tidbit of actual information for you, the red dirt comes from the mineral Hematite (an iron oxide), deposited during the Permian Age which occurred over two hundred fifty-one million years ago. This is the period which followed the largest mass extinction recorded in the history of life on earth. The extinction of certain life forms cleared the way for other forms to dominate and led to what has been called the, “Age of Dinosaurs.”  That be known, I’ll continue.

With my fascination of the color of dirt, came the following poem. While out touring the area once homesteaded by my Great Grandfather, one day, stopping to actually feel the dirt, I thought of how it might have been back in the day. I thought about how it was just to mosey around and enjoy the country side but noticed too that as we walked the dirt clung to our shoes. Brushing it off was not an option as that just seemed to rub it in more.

Intrigued by the color, we got out of our vehicle to touch the dirt, to feel it's texture and  be one with the earth.

Intrigued by the color, we got out of our vehicle to touch the dirt, to feel it’s texture and be one with the earth.

The Dirt’s Red in Oklahoma

Have you ever set your boots down in the Oklahoma dirt

Tried to brush the dust off your jeans

only to get it on your shirt

then take your cowboy hat in hand and give your shirt a swipe

oh heck, now your hat’s red too

and you begin to gripe

“Lord I rode my paint all day, got blisters on my rear

But got the steers all rounded up

only to have this red dirt every where even in my ears

Ya can’t even wipe it off and I’m so tired I could faint

Takin’ a bath wasn’t in my plans

Goin’ to bed was, but now I guess I ain’t.”

Then you look around for a waterin’ hole

and to save time you jump in clothes and all

You went in lookin’ kinda smug but came out feeling a little small

Not only are your clothes still red

by golly now your flesh is too

You got that red dirt under your skin, now there’s nothing you can do

 You look at yourself and ponder sayin, “Lord, I guess this ain’t so bad

I earned this rusty tan playin’ at workin’ hard all day

so I guess  I’m not so sad

I got to ride my pony over the wide, flat open plains

I saw the sun rise and then saw it set again

I did my job and I got no reason to complain

I earn my livin’ doin’ what I want, riding Oklahoma near and far

some folks never see country like this

they live inside their cars

They can’t see beyond the bright lights’

It’s all business, a rushed and hectic day

Lord I sleep beneath the stars and my job to me is play

They worry about their money and they worry about their gas

Lord, all I really have to worry about

Is a few blisters on my ass.”

Written

June 21, 2012

Leave a Reply

