Out of the Mouths of Babe’s

Well, just like we all have to at times, I’ve been called upon to take a few personal days off. Not being up to my usual self I’ve not had the energy it takes to put into the thought process what it takes to write an acceptable ( you know, spelling, punctuation, correct phrasing, all that stuff that makes a piece worth reading) piece of work to put out in print. Right now, my thoughts are scattered, rambling, and anything but clear. So to cover my self, I’m pulling a little piece I wrote several years ago about a conversation between my Grandson and I. He’s the light of my life and hopefully you’ll find this as amusing as I did.  He has delighted us with many little bits of information and pieces of his wisdom at random times and we have come to calling these his “J’disims.”  I’ll return in a few days, hopefully with insight, wisdom, and great energy. Until then, please read on. Wishing you all good days with lots of inspiration.

 

It was the year 2013. September 13, to be exact. Our little grandson, J, was five years old. J spent a lot of time with me and his grandpa at out house. I was getting ready to take off in the car and run a few errands so I threw a quick cleaning job on the car. I’d been hauling dogs and my grandson around so there was enough mess to warrant  a much better cleaning than I had time to do right then.

One of the things I found during the quick clean was a picture J had colored on his first day of kindergarten. It was a bear, featuring blue ears, a purple and orange face, a brown body, blue arms and pink feet. I brought it in and said, “J” , this is a really pretty bear.”

J, replied, “Grammie, do you see any thing wrong with it, like around here, as he pointed his little finger at the face.

“No J, I don’t think so,” I replied, but then added because he still looked questioning, “Unless you mean, right here where you went outside the lines a little bit.

J looked at me quite seriously, and pointed to the bears face, and said, “NO, I mean, shouldn’t it all be brown?”

“No J,” I swiftly answered, “If you wanted it colorful rather than all brown, like a lot of people would want, then it’s okay just the way you did it. I know how you like colorful things J so this looks beautiful. I like it because it’s an original artwork from you.

J looked at me and grinned from ear to ear saying, “Yes grammie,  yes I do like colorful things. I think outside the box!”

I laughed and told him, “Thinking outside the box is a good thing J.”

J put his hands out to his sides, jestured  with a shrug  of his shoulders and a with big grin on his face, he remarked, as he walked away, “Yep, Grammie,  I’m so outside the box, I don’t even know where the box is anymore.”

With that he was gone and I was left standing there, eyes wide open with surprise, laughing my head off and  wondering what that little boy would come up with next.

 

2 thoughts on “Out of the Mouths of Babe’s

  1. Cheryl, Thank you so much. I really appreciate your comments and the nomination. I wasn’t aware one could get an award for blogging. I have a lot to learn I guess. I will be checking on the the nomination requirements soon. I’m sure there must be some. I have been dealing with some personal issues lately so haven’t been blogging. I think I’m back.

    Like

Leave a Reply

